Today’s lesson…brought to you by Walmart

I will be the first person to tell you that I despise Walmart. Walmart is the work of none other than the devil himself. Walmart is dirty. Walmart is loud. Walmart, at least here in my hometown, is chaos. And if you were to tell me that I would be taught a valuable lesson during an impromptu visit to said blackhole, I would kindly laugh…in your face. Walmart can teach me nothing more than how to be a greedy consumer. And that simple manners are no longer appreciated in todays society.

Or so I thought.

My husband and I recently made the grueling decision to stop at Walmart, since it was convenient and we only needed a few things. As we were walking through the back of the store I was reminded that peace and happiness can be found anywhereEven in Walmart. You just have to know where to find it.

Alone in the less than adequate book section of the store, sat this scrawny little boy. He was sitting on one of the bottom shelves, huddled over a book, drowning himself in whatever world he found more pleasant than this retail reality. I had no idea where his family was. And it may have been that he didn’t either. But there he sat, quiet, reserved, and with a smile on his face.

I couldn’t hide my own smile.

My childhood was never easy. Don’t worry, I’ll spare you that sob story. But seeing him reminded me of how I’ve solved 98% of my life’s woes to this very day. Fiction. As a little girl, no matter what I had to go through, I could find myself in a completely different world just by picking up a book. And I’m obviously not alone. It warmed my heart to see a youth, grown out of todays America, enjoying that very same privilege.

And please, don’t ever forget, it is a privilege. Reading, writing, any literary art is a privilege that we are so very blessed to enjoy. And thank God for it. Otherwise, I would not be here gracing you with my technological presence. And let’s face it, what an awful joke of a world would it be without a little ginger in your life?? Ok I’m kidding.

But seriously.

Anyway, I will leave you with this:

“To acquire the habit of reading is to construct for yourself a refuge from almost all the miseries of life.”
― W. Somerset Maugham, Books and You

And this:

Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counselors, and the most patient of teachers.
― Charles William Eliot

Aaaaand this:

“There was another reason [she] took her books whenever they went away. They were her home when she was somewhere strange. They were familiar voices, friends that never quarreled with her, clever, powerful friends — daring and knowledgeable, tried and tested adventurers who had traveled far and wide. Her books cheered her up when she was sad and kept her from being bored.”
― Cornelia Funke, Inkheart

Stay weird (and read on) y’all xoxo ❤

Leave a Reply

