What It Feels Like To Be At Peace…

October.

The very atmosphere changes. The leaves prove there is beauty in all things, even death. The air is crisp, and carries mystery and change through the wind. The essence of childhood and creativity, of mischief and power, floats on the morning fog.

I love it.

My soul yearns for this season all year long. Sure there are jokes about pumpkin spice latte’s and girls clad in sweaters and Ugg boots. But that’s not my autumn. *

My autumn is magic. Where children can create and adults can be children. Where being different and artistic is appreciated, encouraged. My autumn is where introverts come from, and where we wish to be the other 273 days of the year. My autumn is getting lost in the woods to do nothing more than be alone and marvel at the beauty of the show the trees are putting on. Their last hurrah of the year, their ‘see you soon’. Where summer is full of fast paced fun and spring is full of hurried rebuild, autumn is my moment to take a break, look around and breathe.

This is peace. This is serenity. This is my home.

“Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns.”

-George Eliot [Letter to Miss Eliot, Oct. 1, 1841]

It feels good to be home.

Stay weird, yall XOXO

*PS. I’ve never even owned a pair of Ugg boots. Now, the black high heeled boots that zip up your calf? Guilty. They’re bad ass. Don’t judge.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

